Houston Methodist. Leading Medicine

Wrist FAQ


Why is Kienbock's disease named by stage?


Kienbock's disease has four distinct stages; it's important for doctors to distinguish between the different stages because of the differences in treatment.

Stage 1 - this stage may be when you think you have sprained your wrist. It's painful, maybe a bit swollen

Stage 2 - if the bones were examined by x-ray, you would be able to see where the bone tissue is dying. The wrist may be more painful, swollen, and tender

Stage 3 - the bone may begin to break apart, causing more pain and making it difficult to move the wrist

Stage 4 - the adjoining bones are affected Rohit Arora, MD, et al. Long-Term Subjective and Radiological Outcome After Reconstruction of Kienbock's Disease Stage 3 Treated by a Free Vascularized Iliac Bone Graft. Journal of Hand Surgery. February 2008. Vol. 33. No 2. Pp. 175-181.

*Disclaimer:* The information contained herein is compiled from a variety of sources. It may not be complete or timely. It does not cover all diseases, physical conditions, ailments or treatments. The information should NOT be used in place of visit with your healthcare provider, nor should you disregard the advice of your health care provider because of any information you read in this topic.
All content provided by eORTHOPOD® is a registered trademark of Medical Multimedia Group, L.L.C.. Content is the sole property of Medical Multimedia Group, LLC and used herein by permission.

Our Specialties

Where Does It Hurt?

Our Locations

  Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on YouTube
Follow us on Twitter